What should I pack for Korea?

31 Jan

When I arrived in Korea I was nervous, but excited. The EPIK program tends to starve you of information – you don’t find out until the last minute where you will be placed. You don’t know the area, you don’t know the age of students you will be teaching, you essentially know nothing. For someone who likes to research and plan, that’s pretty daunting. I was lucky then, to have a lot of support waiting for me when I arrived in the form of the previous NET at my school, who left me tonnes of notes and information, maps and activities, and even met me to show me around a little and answer my questions.

I hope in a month’s time to have the opportunity to pay-it-forward, but for now it has got me thinking about one of my most burning questions when I was planning my trip – what should I bring? It’s a very subjective thing, but since most of the lists I read were written by Americans, or men, I thought I’d add my own suggestions so you can learn from my mistakes. In three parts…

1) Things I wish I’d brought to Korea:

– Toothpaste

I read this on so many blogs and every time I went “psssht! Like I’m THAT attached to my Western toothpaste!” How wrong I was. Colgate is a fiercely guarded and much valued commodity amongst expats in Korea. Korean toothpaste is… weird. A lot of it isn’t even mint flavoured and the consistency is strange. The closest thing to Western toothpaste I was able to buy here was some Arm & Hammer (which is gross in its own special way). To illustrate how much I missed toothpaste – I asked my mum to send me some for my birthday. Seriously. Pack it.

– Deodorant

This is another one of those things I didn’t believe, and indeed I bought a small roll-on deodorant here and wondered what everyone was banging on about. However, it’s rubbish. I smell way more here than I did at home, and I can’t wait to get back to my fearsome Mitchum deodorant when I return home.

– Blu-Tack

An actual conversation before I left the UK:

Me: I need to get some Blu-Tack before I leave.

My friend: Oh, come on! They’ll have Blu-Tack in Korea!

They do not have Blu-Tack in Korea.

It’s invaluable for both household decoration and as a teaching aid. BRING BLU-TACK.

– Sunscreen

Sunscreen here is expensive and mostly comes in small bottles. I stocked up when I found Nivea spray in HomePlus, but it isn’t easy to come by.

– Personal bug spray

Spray for the home was easy to find, but for the body not so much. The mosquitoes are killer in the summer here (especially for the Brits, it seemed) so bring a bottle of deet with you.

 2) Things I was glad I’d brought to Korea:

– Beach towel

Korean beach towels are hard to track down, and then when you do they’re often really small. If you’re moving to a coastal area like Busan, throw in a beach towel. If you can’t survive without large bath towels, then I’d suggest bringing one of those too. I got one from EPIK when I arrived at orientation, but most of my Korean towels are hand towel sized.

– Chocolate

Specifically Cadburys. Korean chocolate bars are pretty good if you like nuts and nougat (I do) but the solid stuff is not so good. Lots of it is Hersheys which is also pretty poor. The only chocolate bars I recognise from the UK available in Korea are Twix and Snickers, and the odd bar of Galaxy (branded here as Dove). Care packages of my favourites (Crunchies and After Eights mostly – hey, I’m dairy intolerant so I have weird tastes) kept me going.

– Silicone earplugs

I slept with earplugs in when I lived in London because otherwise the constant bustle from outside (and yelling from my neighbours) would affect my sleep. I use them sporadically in Korea to block out loud traffic noise, snoring roommates in hostels, and yelling from my neighbours (different city, same problems). In Korea you can find the orange foam earplugs in stationers as study aids (in small quantities usually), but for a good night’s sleep I find these can hurt my ears. I stocked up on silicone earplugs before I left.

– Marmite

I’m British. I love it. I brought two massive jars (and still ran out). I also made Marmite sandwiches for my kids for summer camp and they were really excited to try this British food. Most of them absolutely hated it, but they were still excited to try! The same went for American friends I made in Korea.

– Clothes and shoes

I’m taller than the average Korean woman and with bigger feet. Feet so big, in fact, that I cannot buy shoes here (unless they’re unisex or mens). I also struggle to buy trousers outside of Western stores like H&M and Uniqlo (I’m luckily thin enough to shop at Uniqlo here which have a smaller size range in Korea than they do at home – size 12 and over may struggle). I also stocked up on tights, and high-neck long sleeved t-shirts to help me conform to Korea’s standards for female modesty.

 

 

 

 

3) Things I wish I hadn’t bothered bringing to Korea:

– Tampons

Information about tampons in Korea was vague – the first rule of Menstrual Club, of course, being “don’t talk about Menstrual Club” (the second rule is “no smoking”, and if you got that reference we can officially be friends) and suggested that since Korean women seemed to prefer sanitary towels (pads), finding tampons would be difficult and they’d be expensive. I don’t use tampons that often, but have managed to find them in most places that sell pads, and if buying off-brand in a shop like Olive Young or Watsons, found them to be reasonably priced. There isn’t however a lot of choice (usually two types in most stores, both applicator and “normal” flow, usually one is the Playtex brand) and so I suspect if you prefer to use tampons and you like non-applicator ones, or need ones for heavier flow, you’d be better to bring them with you. If any of my expat readers have contradictory evidence, please let me know in the comments.

– Smart clothes

My school is not that dressy, and I looked out of place in my shirts and dress trousers. My trousers were wide-legged (as is the most common office fashion in the UK) and in the land of the skinny trouser I was roundly mocked by my students. I would have done better to bring some smart-ish skirts instead – indeed I bought some jersey skirts in Korea and wore those with smart-ish tops and jumpers to school most of the time. I’ve lately resorted to smart jeans and chinos. I suggest dressing smarter at first, but fairly feminine for women to make the best first impression. I hate to admit it, but I think a pencil skirt, blouse and a cardigan would have won me more instant brownie points than my shirt and trousers did.

– Cosmetics

Generally speaking, Korea is amazing for cosmetics. I love trawling the different shops for skin products and make-up and nail varnish and all sorts of things. I didn’t need most of the stuff I brought, for the most part. The exception is perhaps foundation as some people will find it hard to match their skin colour to the products available here. If you have something you can’t live without, bring it. Otherwise have fun experimenting with the cheap and plentiful cosmetics available here (my favourites include Etude House nail varnish and Tony Moly lip stains – totally addictive).

There you go – it’s by no means exhaustive and is completely subjective, but hopefully will give you a few pointers when it comes to the daunting task of packing for a year in South Korea!

11 Responses to “What should I pack for Korea?”

  1. Keir Thomas 31/01/2013 at 3:37 pm #

    Spices and mixes. Fajita mix, casserole mix, all of those Colemans packets. They’re light, small, and PERFECT for the winter months when you’re most missing English food.

    • Kitty 31/01/2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Ah, that’s a good suggestion! I wish I’d brought some gravy, actually, now that I think about it.

      • Keir Thomas 31/01/2013 at 3:49 pm #

        Oh yeah gravy, definitely. Essential!

  2. waterfallsandcaribous 03/02/2013 at 9:45 am #

    Gravy for sure!!!! Mum used to send packets of that in our care packages, haha. When you don’t have an oven, its a little hard to make your own gravy from scratch. Spices like cumin and coriander would have come in handy too.

  3. internet business 04/06/2013 at 2:08 pm #

    I comment when I appreciate a post on a site or if I have
    something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It is triggered by the fire displayed in the post I browsed.

    And after this article What should I pack for Korea? | Finger Bruises.
    I was actually excited enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have some
    questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be
    only me or do a few of these comments come across like
    they are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Could you make a list the complete urls of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. www.games mobile.com 15/04/2014 at 9:45 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about mobile games. Regards

  5. clumsy ninja cheat download 26/05/2014 at 11:34 pm #

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found
    something which helped me. Kudos!

  6. petrol cards 14/06/2014 at 1:34 pm #

    I have read so many articles concerning the blogger lovers but this
    paragraph is in fact a fastidious article, keep it up.

  7. Boyce 22/08/2014 at 12:04 am #

    Dogs that have been very pleased with him. The issue using
    this could extend dog training techniques to two days here and there will be a well-behaved pet.
    Keep dogs under 6-8 months of keeping it as part of
    controlling and communicating with the puppies. You will be followed
    at the same behaviour towards our pets then we can. Canids, including the Dog Training a dog like you are!
    It operates just like other remote devices do.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foundation mistakes that you should avoid | Blog For Big Green Apple - 04/02/2013

    […] Conditioning (notes from Clicker Expo)BRITISH VOGUE'S ALEXADRA SHULMAN X TOPSHOP TALKSWhat should I pack for Korea .wp-polls .pollbar { margin: 1px; font-size: 6px; line-height: 8px; height: 8px; background: […]

Leave a Reply

